Mmm. Choices. A slow inter-muscular injection into each buttock monthly? Or back to where I started 16 years ago ….. on the old ‘gold standard’ Tamoxifen?

But at least there are options available.  I owe everyone who has left messages asking how I’ve been doing a huge apology.  Sorry chaps, haven’t had the energy to get back to everyone.

And so to continue ……

I wasn’t the only family member at Derby Hospital on 27th April.  Alex fell at school resulting in a double buckle fracture in his right wrist.

How to cheer up a poorly grandson

My post-op consultation with Mark Sibbering was mostly good.  Flying solo for this one as not even Jo can been in 2 places at once (see above).  I would urge everyone to take someone with them to clinical appointments – I couldn’t remember everything Mark said but a letter arrived a few days later spelling everything out clearly.  Tumour completely removed. Grade has moved up a notch to a Grade 3 invasive ductal carcinoma.  The results from the Fine Needle Aspirate of the ‘unusual nodes’ in the infraclavicular gave a suspicious (but not definitive) result for malignancy.

The only way to be sure is to remove the nodes.  But an operation is not possible.  The next treatment option would usually be radiotherapy.  But I can’t have any more in that area. So the MDT had agreed that the best option for me would to be referred back to Pam in Oncology and probably put on Fluvestrant.   Two slow intramuscular injections, one into each buttock, monthly.  Oh joy!!!  Lots of common side effects but one of major concern is a change to the way the liver works.  So regular blood tests required.  Not a terribly attractive option.  Finding a vein has become so painful and difficult, but if it works……

A week later, me and Jo go to see Pam in Oncology.  We all agree it’s ‘rather disappointing’ that the cancer returned so soon.  Pam’s been doing her homework – looking back over the last 16 years, how the cancer has changed and what drugs I’ve been on.  I started on Tamoxifen, changed to Anastrazole  because the side effects were too severe, then had Exemestane last year (which obviously didn’t work).  Weighing up the options, we agreed to give Tamoxifen another go with 3 monthly scans of the pesky nodes plus body scans. Hopefully the Tamoxifen will stop or slow down any malignant growths.  If not, then we will have to consider chemotherapy.  Again.  Scan appointment booked for August 10th.  But I am feeling positive and well! I have a fab relationship with my consultants and feel really confident that we are on the best path.

Highlights and lowlights.

Bob Dylan concert …. really don’t know which category to place this in.  He is an icon and maybe the last opportunity to get to see him.  But an arena really didn’t suit his set. There was no interaction with the audience – came on, performed, went off.  I’m pleased I went but couldn’t honestly recommend his ‘Never Ending Tour’.

Highlights

A trip to Doddington Hall with Helen and Caroline – friends and Grimsthorpe Guides. And more days out planned.   A shared love of history, food and gossip.

Helping Danny with his Tudor history project.  He thought that being given Catherine Parr as his topic would be more boring than the other wives of Henry VIII.  But Katherine, 11th Baroness Willoughby de Eresby, was good friends with Catherine Parr. Catherine remarried following Henry’s death, had her only child – a daughter Mary – and died 8 days later.  Katherine Willoughby de Eresby brought up the baby at  Grimsthorpe Castle.  Fingers crossed that Danny wins the prize for best project.  If he doesn’t, there will be 2 very disappointed people.  Jo’s baking his teacher a birthday cake for tomorrow. Not trying to influence any decisions ……

Mindfulness – a free course at St Barnabas Hospice.  I’m into week 3 and getting a lot of benefit from it.  Jo bought me Ruby Wax’s book, ‘Mindfulness for the Frazzled’ which is a highly recommended read.  I’m persevering with the course and hoping I can be a trainer in a few months.

And having Josephine here.  Enough said. XX

Lowlights

I guess not knowing what the future holds post surgery.

Struggling to get buy in for a Grimsthorpe Castle children’s booklet.  Not giving up yet! But draining on the energy resources ….

Finally, a few images of Rose Cottage springing into life


 

Leave a comment